Facebook   Twitter   Instagram
Current Issue   Archive   Archive    

Reps. Neguse & Crow to Perform the Story of an Undocumented Immigrant: Motus Theater


Donate TodaySUPPORT LOCAL MEDIA-DONATE NOW!

NOTE: Press Releases are provided to Yellow Scene. In an effort to keep our community informed, we are now publishing some press releases in whole. 

 

This Thursday @ 6PM MST/8PM EST

Don’t miss the groundbreaking performance covered in Colorado Politics, the Daily Camera, and the Longmont Leader!

In collaboration with Alejandro G. Iñarritu’s nationally touring, award-winning virtual reality experience, CARNE y ARENA, Motus Theater is presenting: UndocuMonologues: Stories from our Undocumented Neighbors.

The story of Motus UndocuMonologist Juan Juarez will be read aloud by special guest readers, U.S. Representatives Joe Neguse and Jason Crow, who will then, alongside Juan, reflect on the impact of reading his story. UndocuMonologists Cristian Solano-Cordova and Tania Chairez will be reading their own monologues. Each monologue presented is followed by a powerful musical response from Uruguayan musician Elisa Garcia.

Final Q&A with Lisa Duran, the executive director of the Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition.

RSVP Here.

AND REGISTER NOW FOR FUTURE EVENTS:

Monday, Jan 18th, 3PM MST/5PM EST

To honor the legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., Motus Theater is offering a virtual space for music, poetry, and storytelling speaking out against mass incarceration. Don’t miss formerly incarcerated Motus monologists Brandon Wainright, Daniel Guillory and Juaquin Mobley from the JustUs project with the incomparable national slam poet Dominique Christina; powerful music from Spirit Grace; and Boulder county DA, Michael Dougherty, and Jessica Howard, the racial justice campaign coordinator for the ACLU of CO, stepping into the shoes of JustUs monologist Daniel Guillory by reading his story aloud and reflecting on the impact of the criminal legal system on his life.

This free event will be streamed via Zoom with the goal of mobilizing discussion and inspiring action toward true justice. A perfect event for thoughtful family dialogue and reflection on the ongoing civil rights and racial justice challenges of the criminal legal system (middle school aged youth on up).

RSVP!

Wednesday, Jan 20th, 5PM MST/7PM EST

Motus Theater was invited by MCA Denver to present JustUs: Stories from the frontlines of the Criminal Justice System as part of their new ‘Citizenship a Practice of Society’ exhibit. The performance will feature four of the JustUs, formerly incarcerated monologists reading autobiographical monologues about the racism and injustice of the criminal justice system. The monologues will be woven together with healing and powerful musical responses by Spirit of Grace.

RSVP!

Leave a Reply

X